Dr. Su named to 2022 AAAS class


February 2, 2023

Nan-Yao Su

Dr. Nan-Yao Su

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals, has elected 19 faculty from the University of Florida to its newest class.

Dr. Nan-Yao Su, a Pest Management Professional Hall of Famer (Class of 2018), is one of 19 faculty members named to the class.

This class broke the previous number of University of Florida faculty awarded in a single year. The honor, which includes alumni such as Thomas Edison and W.E.B. DuBois, is among the most distinctive in academia and recognizes extraordinary impact and achievement across disciplines, from research, teaching, and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public.

Dr. Su, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, is a distinguished professor in the UF/IFAS entomology and nematology department. His research focuses on urban entomology, specifically termite biology and control. Dr. Su developed the Sentricon system, a bait system for termite control. The Sentricon system is said to have helped reduce pesticide use by over 9,000 metric tons; in 2000, it earned the Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). He has also served as a technical adviser relating to termite issues for foreign governments such as China, New Zealand and Vietnam.

Other faculty members named include:

  • Emilio M. Bruna
  • Valérie de Crécy-Lagard
  • Ageliki (Lily) Elefteriadou
  • Gerrit Hoogenboom
  • Prabhat Mishra
  • Cheryl Palm
  • Anna-Lisa Paul
  • Peihua Qiu
  • Bala Rathinasabapathi
  • Czerne Reid
  • Carlos M. Rinaldi-Ramos
  • José Eduardo P. Santos
  • Matthew Smith
  • Pam Soltis
  • Lukasz Stelinski
  • Maurice Swanson
  • Nian Wang
  • Marta L. Wayne

The 2022 class of AAAS Fellows are among 505 scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements.

“An important measure of the university’s prowess is the accolades its faculty members receive from national and international organizations,” said David Norton, vice president for UF Research, said in the news release. “The awarding of Fellow from AAAS to so many UF researchers this year is the result of the remarkable achievements of these individuals and reflects very positively on UF as we strive to become the best public research university in the country.”


About the Author

Ellen Wagner is a former digital editor for PMP magazine.

Leave A Comment

Comments are closed.