Learn EPA’s 4-tier system for bait application


October 16, 2020

Casey Prewitt, Neogen

Casey Prewitt, Sales Manager, Professional Pest Management, Neogen

Being familiar with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA’s) tier system is a great start to selecting the appropriate bait station for each application. There are four distinct tiers:

  • Tier 1 is tamper-resistant for children and dogs, weather-resistant, and for indoor and outdoor use.
  • Tier 2 is still tamper-resistant for children and dogs, but is not weather-resistant and only can be used indoors.
  • Tier 3 is tamper-resistant for children only, and is for indoor use only.
  • Tier 4 stations are primarily one-time indoor use only, and usually not recommended for professional use.

Knowing these differences can help you select the appropriate station for each application, and help reduce unwanted problems in the future.


Leave A Comment

Comments are closed.